Readoiri Finals 2010

Pioneers’ 2010 Readoiri Finalists Play to a Packed UL

In February hundreds of competitors and their supporters from all over Ireland descended on the University of Limerick for the finals of the PTAA’s celebrated annual Réadóirí Talent Competition. Commenting on the 2010 Readoiri finals PTAA CEO Padraig Brady said:

“On behalf of the Pioneer Association I would like congratulate all of the Readoiri participants for getting to this the final stage in our competition. I know that the competition for every round of this year’s Readoiri has been stiff.  I want to say well done and thank you to everybody joining us  this afternoon  for taking such an active and personal interest in the Pioneer Association’s Readoiri.  I have been deeply impressed  at the talent and creativity that we have seen showcased here today.  May I congratulate our winners in particular who have really put on an extraordinary display. We must commend them for their talent, hard work and dedication.”   

Cork-based Pioneer member Tadhg Kelleher acted as a very capable and polished MC for the Readoiri which consisted of 14 categories that included different types of Irish/Disco Dancing, Dramas, Singing, Poetry Recitations, Music and Pageants.  The results for this year’s final are as follows:

Figure Dancing
Province Diocese Region Centre
Ulster Dromore Dromore Warren Point ,
Laura McGrath, Caoimhe Curran, Aoife Quinn, Shannen Brown, Orlaith
Murphy, Hannah Kearney, Kirsty Robertson, Aoife Burns

Junior Solo Singing
Connacht Tuam North–East Galway Moylough/Mountbellow
Cathal Sweeney

Musical Group
Connacht Tuam North –East Galway Corofin
Roisin Broderick, Conor Broderick, Erica Mannion, Shauna Mannion, Aoife Power.

Junior Recitation
Munster Cork Cork Mid-West Inchgeellagh
Tracy Cronin

Senior Solo Singing
Connacht Elphin Roscommon/Athlone Knockcroghery
Cathy Dervan

Junior Musical Solo
Ulster Kilmore East Cavan Lavey
Shamus Tierney

Junior Novelty Act
Ulster Clogher North Monaghan Killevan
Aideen McGurk, John McGurk, Gerard Graham, Michelle Hurson, Sarah
McGinn (sub: Diane Deery)

Group Disco Dancing
Connacht Tuam North East Galway Abbeyknockmoy
Darina Keane, Leanne King, Christina Tracy, Ciara Greaney, Maeve
Tracy, Patricia Flaherty

Ulster Raphoe North Donegal Glenswilly
Oisín Farrel, Ciaran Farrel, Pat Quinn, Dan McDaid, Cormac Callaghan,
Shannagh Kelly, Annie McBride, Rebeca Fletcher

Senior Novelty Act
Munster Limerick West Limerick Feenagh/Kilmeedy
Liam og Doody, Nuala Kelly, Christy Kelly, Luke Kelly

Senior Musical Solo

Leinster Meath Mullingar Mullingar
Stacey Hogg

Senior Recitation
Leinster        Ardagh/Clonmacnoise     Longford        Legan
Liam Butler

Group Singing
Connacht        Elphin  Strokestown/Castlerea   Whitehall
Amy Kelly, Leonie Beirne, Ciaran Casserly, Ronan McGowan, Aisling Hoey

Set Dancing

Ulster Kilmore East Cavan Drumkilly
Christiane Callery, Kevin Smith, Darren Callery, Pierce Smith, Stephen
Smith, Cait Smith, Annie Smith, Clare Boylan.

The Readoiri consist of junior and senior age categories. The competition begins in October every year with local and regional finals before concluding in February with provincial finals and the All-Ireland Final. The Readoiri is co-ordinated by the PTAA’s National Leisure Committee